Do you know Murphy’s Law?

Abdul Rahman Shaik
2 min readApr 1, 2018

--

Edward Aloysius Murphy Jr.

ANYTHING CAN GO WRONG, IT WILL GO WRONG.

Edward Murphy said it in first place. And named after him as Murphy’s law.

I didn’t hear about this law in my high school, neither got in my exam paper. I heard it on TV when I was watching one of my favourite TV series Grey’s Anatomy. It didn’t make much sense to me at that time. I found it on-line.

Here’s a link below.

Here’s what I read,

“ In 1949, Edward Murphy conducted a rocket sled experiment to see how much pressure a human being could withstand. Murphy’s experiment failed spectacularly, over and over. Needless to say, he didn’t start off on the right foot. That’s why it’s called Murphy’s law. Because if anything can go wrong, it will.

Once things start going wrong, it’s hard to break the cycle. Murphy’s law is not physics. It’s just a thing a guy said to try and make sense of a crappy day. Just because things go wrong, it doesn’t mean they’re out of our control. It’s on us to fix things. It’s on us to take everything that can go wrong, and make it go right. It’s on us to try, anyway. “

Here’s what happened to me.

I need to get 4 copies of 3 papers. It’s simple, get a Xerox machine or printer. Maybe at least find one and it takes not more than 10 minutes. Well, it took me 4 hours approximately. I remembered the Murphy’s law.

I was getting mixed feelings and thinking ‘what is happening?’. I kept my cool and rode my emotions instead of hiding them. In getting those copies I walked half of my college about 3–4 times. Met my professor and had a little interesting talk with her. She finally helped me in getting copies. And I got them signed.

I learned that I need to be patient in every moment. Whatever happens it happens for a reason. There’s always a lesson in everything that happens. Looking through the lens of good and bad isn’t helpful. There’s more than good and bad. It goes the same with you as well.

Yes, Murphy’s law makes sense.

--

--